Practice Makes Perfect

August 18, 2008 at 3:00 pm 2 comments

I’m learning how to knit, and it’s frustrating.  Figuring out how to hold the needle, hold the yard, make the stitches.  It feels totally awkward.  I wonder if I’ll ever knit with the skills I see in my knitting friends.  Then I remember how it was when I first started babywearing.  

In the beginning, it was incredibly awkward.  Holding the baby, wrapping straps, fumbling with buckles. Trying to get that darned thing on required the patience of a saint, and the limbs of a contortionist.  Or so I thought.  Watching a seasoned babywearer put her child in a carrier with fluidity and grace was awe inspiring. Would I ever be able to do it?

So, I practiced.  And practiced.  I would stand in front of the closet mirrors with wrap and baby trying to do a back carry.  Beads of perspiration would form over my furrowed brow, and I would mutter obscenities under my breath.  Curse babywearing!  Will I ever get this?  I kept practicing because I needed to.  Two kids required babywearing!  And I got better.  Heck, I got good enough to teach.

So, I knit, never dreaming of teaching, but settled in knowing that I’ll get better with practice.

Happy wearing,                                                                                                                                                   Kristin

Entry filed under: News.

Come join us to the May 20th Meeting Come to September’s Meeting!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Celina  |  September 2, 2008 at 9:34 am

    Perfect analogy. I’ve mastered the over the “shoulder tossing”. You’d think that’s a special kind of knit stitch, lol.

    Reply
  • 2. Quality Baby Carriers  |  February 25, 2009 at 10:51 am

    i dont know how I missed this post but, I did the same thing with my first born! I practiced sewing and knitting to death but I ended up asking my mom to do it for me.. I hope youre good in knitting now 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Events

Contact us

carrythechildren at gmail dot com
August 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Photo Gallery

Feeds

website statistics

